|Georgia Boating Courses
Safety Education Requirements
Age and Education Requirements
If you are under 12 years of age you may legally operate a boat less than 16' long if it is powered by a motor with less than 30 horsepower and a competent adult is with you.
If you're 16 or older, you may operate any boat on Georgia waters as long as you have some sort of government-issued identification with you.
If you're between 12 and 16 years old and you want to operate a small boat or PWC on your own in Georgia, you must successfully complete an approved boating safety course.
All boat operators have a responsibility to know about boat operations, rules of water navigation, communications and how to respond in emergencies. Boaters without boating safety education put themselves and others at risk.
Even if Georgia doesn't require boating education by law for your age group, you are encouraged to become educated by making the responsible choice. Taking a Boating Safety Course is essential for safe boating.
WE STRONGLY ADVISE ALL BOATERS OF ALL AGES TO TAKE BOATING SAFETY COURSES THROUGHOUT THEIR YEARS OF BOATING.
You can find many boaters’ education classes online. It's important that the course you choose meets the minimum standards set by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
Six to 13 lessons / units comprise most of the online boating courses. At the end of each lesson, a quiz is given. You must pass the quiz with a minimum score of 70% before going to the next unit.
As a boat operator you have a responsibility to keep up-to-date with new boating laws and safety information. In addition to knowing the changes in Georgia, you must also be aware of the rules in the states where you plan on boating.
A data base of all courses approved by NASBLA can be found here.