|Arkansas Boat Registration
All vessels propelled by motor or sail, including boats powered by electric trolling motors, are required to be registered in the state of Arkansas.
Arkansas' Boat Registration Process
Boat owners must apply for registration within 30 days of the date of purchase. If your boat must be registered, it must also have a certificate of title. A title is your proof of ownership in case the vessel is lost, damaged or stolen. Boat titles and registrations may be applied for at any state revenue office. Click here for a list of State Revenue Office locations and hours of operation.
Your boat's classification is determined by its length and type of propulsion. The class will determine applicable laws, required equipment and the registration fees you will pay upon initial registration and at renewal.
The above costs do not include property taxes, or any other applicable charges.
Once a proper application is submitted with the required payment, you will receive a Certificate of Registration and two (2) decals in the mail. The Certificate of Registration must be carried on board when boat is in use. The registration number and validation decals must be affixed to the boat. See below for placement instructions.
Numbering Your Vessel
Once your boat has been assigned a registration number and decals, you must display them on your boat correctly. The registration number must be displayed on each side of the bow, read from left to right and in a position to be distinctly visible. The letters and numbers must be of a plain BLOCK design, at least three (3) inches tall and of a color that contrasts to the color of the hull. There must be a letter size space or hyphen between letter and number groups:
Before you can register your homemade boat, you must first apply for a Hull Identification Number (HIN) with the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission (AGFC).
Owners of homemade vessels who do not have an HIN may request an inspection by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Enforcement Division by calling 501-223-6379. Upon favorable inspection, your vessel will receive an official State-Assigned HIN. The number must be affixed to the transom of the boat. Be sure to keep the HIN with other important papers in a safe place, not on the boat.
How to Renew Your Boat Registration
Arkansas boat registrations must be renewed every three years. You will receive a reminder by mail approximately 30 days before your deadline. You can renew your boat registration by mail or in person at any state revenue office. Renewal fees are the same as the initial registration fees. (See above)
Renew By Mail
To renew by mail send the required items no later than 15 days prior to expiration date with a check or money order payable to the Department of Finance and Administration in the amount of the correct registration fees to:
Renew In Person
You may renew your boat registration in person by taking the required items and your checkbook to any State Revenue Office. Click here for a list of State Revenue Office locations and hours of operation.
Replace Lost Registration
To replace a lost registration, follow the same procedure as applying for the registration. Download this form, complete it and mail it in with $1.00.
Replace Lost Title
To replace a lost title, the process is more complicated. Please click here and follow the instructions which apply to your situation.
Address changes must be reported within 15 days of move.
When ownership changes or whenever a vessel is destroyed or abandoned, the owner shall, within 30 days, give notice to AGFC to terminate the registration. The owner is also responsible for removing the registration numbers and validation decals from the vessel.