|Arkansas Boating License
Arkansas Boating License
In Arkansas, no one born after January 1, 1986 is permitted to operate a water vessel or PWC without being in possession of a Boater's Safety Education card. In order to obtain your Boater's Card in Arkansas, you must successfully complete an approved Boater Safety Education Course. Click here for Arkansas' Boating Education Course Requirements.
A person under 12 years of age, while operating a boat on Arkansas' waters, must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years old who has satisfied the boating education requirement if born after January 1, 1986 ad is in position to take immediate control.
Your Boating License
Although it gives you “license” to legally operate a boat on Arkansas' waters, the boater's card is not considered a license because it never expires.
NOTE: Since some states require all boat operators to carry proof of having passed a NASBLA-Approved boating course and since the Arkansas-issued boater's card never expires, you might want to take the course and keep your card regardless of your age.
How to Obtain Your Boat Operator's Certification in Arkansas
Upon completing an approved online course and paying the appropriate course fee, if any, you'll be able to print a temporary certificate on the spot. This certificate will allow you to operate a vessel legally on Arkansas waters until you receive your permanent card. The card will be mailed to you within a few days. Remember to always carry your card or driver's license with you when operating a boat.
If You Lose your Boat Operator's Certificate /License
A replacement Boater's Education Card can be ordered through the mail or you can print one online. The cost to receive a duplicate plastic Boating Education Card is $5.00. To complete and print online, Click here, and complete the form. You may print a free replacement from your computer for free in lieu of paying the $5.00 charge for a permanent plastic duplicate card.
To order by mail, Click here print and complete the form (you have the option to fill it out before you print it, if you prefer) and mail your request for a duplicate Boater's Education Card along with a check or money order for $5.00 to:
You may visit any AGFC Regional Office or Nature Center and receive a printed copy of your card for free.
You may always take the course again and receive another card for free.
Arkansas accepts Licenses / Certificates / Cards issued by those states whose courses meet the minimum requirements set by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). Most states with a mandatory boater education requirement will accept a Arkansas Boat Operator’s Card / Certification.